This eats at me. It bugs the crap out of me. This isn’t how our country is supposed to work. I am sick of Canadians of convenience. Once Canada decides a person gets to be a Canadian, I’m sorry but that person is CANADIAN. Not just while they are here, paying their taxes and keeping their mouth shut.

If you travel to another country and get kidnapped, Canada had better be fighting tooth and nail for you. All of a sudden it’s ok for someone to be tortured, tried without a proper hearing, Human Rights no longer have any meaning? Our deafening silence pisses me off. And I don’t want to hear about breaking laws in other countries. If you haven’t educated yourself on the story, I really don’t want to hear it. There’s plenty of people out who want to shoot off their big mouths without bothering to check any facts. Frankly, I am over it. Go talk to some other uneducated fool and leave me out of it. I don’t have the patience left.

I have been emailing my MP back and forth for a few issues this week. It seems that in our lovely democracy which we love sooo much, your opinion only matters if you agree with whatever their party line is. Instead of getting emails back that say thank you for your opinion, we will take it into consideration with everyone else’s I get lectures and links to what they believe in. Guess what? I read that. I think you’re wrong. That’s why I wrote to you.

You want to get rid of voter apathy? How about we pretend that our Member of Parliament represents their whole constituency, not just the people who voted for them. In our stupid first past the post system, not only does my vote not count, but once the election is over, my voice doesn’t either. Nice. Maybe I am too naive or idealistic, but that is my right.

I think the message is loud and clear, stay home, keep quiet and don’t get into trouble, otherwise Canada doesn’t fucking care. Nice.

Another thing I don’t understand is why the press etc is not paying any attention to the fact that a visitor to Bahrain, has been kidnapped, tortured and sentenced. Shouldn’t this weigh heavily when businesses etc are deciding to hold conferences there? Or sports teams with their competitions? Why on earth should the F1 be coming back if a visitor to the country can be treated this way? It hardly sends out the impression that Bahrain is safe. Their government doesn’t care who they catch in their web.

Also, just to be crystal clear, in my eyes no one is more important than any other. I want ALL the prisoners released and this torture bullshit to stop. I just feel that this is one case that we, as Canadians, should be able to say “enough!” on and shine the spotlight on what is really going on in Bahrain, behind all the paid PR bullshit they feed us.

Leave a Reply

